The Desert Homestead Blog
Urban and rural sustainable homesteading in the desert southwest

A bird in the hand …

I’m still mulling my options in terms of employment. When my company let me go, they gave me the option of keeping it if I would relocate to … well, a midwestern industrial state. A state that — if you can believe this — receives mountains of frozen white stuff from the sky for six months out of the year.

Yeah. After nearly two decades in the desert, that’s quite a leap.

However, the job market here isn’t all that great (is it anywhere?). I’ve been pounding the pavement literally and virtually, and have only had one nibble thus far. A nibble that would garner me $20K less per year in salary at best.

The pros of relocating are a guaranteed job at a comfortable salary, albeit for an unknown length of time. In about seven months I could have the property paid off, and in 15 I could have all my debts paid off. I have a friend there who would let me rent a room from her, so housing costs would be pretty minor. And The Boy would continue living in the condo and paying rent, although not the full amount of the mortgage.

The con, of course, is that I couldn’t work on The Ranch for pretty much the entire time. Sure, I could fly out for a week or so, but there’s no way I could get the house done in time for the July deadline.

Boy and others have suggested I take the job and continue looking for one here, moving back as soon as I have one. That sounds good on the surface, but it’s not exactly easy job-searching long-distance. Potential employers like to meet you face-to-face.

I’ve given myself another week to vacillate, but I’m going to need to make a decision at some point. If I were to take the offer, I obviously wouldn’t be entitled to the severance they gave me (I haven’t cashed the check). So I’d need to start working within the next two weeks in order to pay my bills on time.

No Responses to “A bird in the hand …”

Leave a Reply

